Trashy update

November 7, 2007 at 6:59 pm 2 comments

TrashbagHere are the contents of my portable trashbag so far:

  • plastic wrapper for organic Udon noodles
  • Cardboard coffee sleeve (the woman at Think Coffee put it on my glass bottle before I had the chance to turn it down)
  • Plastic egg carton
  • Plastic wrapper for Trader Joe’s organic pepper jack cheese
  • Tom’s of Maine toothpaste tube (does anybody know if you can recycle these?)
  • Band-aid wrapper
  • Four tea bag wrappers (from the batch of Kombucha I brewed Monday)
  • ATM receipt dated 12/16/06 (??)
  • Plastic yogurt container
  • Muffin wrapper (these last two are from things I got at last night’s trash tour. I’m not sure if I need to be carrying them around since, technically, I rescued the items they packaged from the trash. But I am anyways.)
  • Scrap from the top of a mailing envelope (now that I think of it, this could go in the recycling)
  • Ziploc bag with 2 apple cores, clementine peel, and a pear core (for the worms)

That’s it so far. As you can tell, it’s mostly plastic packaging and therefore pretty light.

– Adam

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Late Night (non) Shopping Local Foods, CFLS, Stupid Starbucks, and COLD ROOMS

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shane Crary-Ross  |  November 8, 2007 at 12:32 am

    If I were you, I’d let the plastic yogurt container & muffin wrapper slide… Today the kids I babysit gave me their croissant wrappers, and I put them in the trash. Then again, I am not exactly a model footpring forwarder: I also forgot that I was only supposed to eat local/organic/whatever food and ate some amazing channa from Lahore, this Pakistani hole-in-the-wall on Crosby Street. Mmmm…

  • 2. kit  |  November 12, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    I hold on to my egg containers and give them to the people that sell eggs at the farmer’s market. Just check to make sure they will re-use them!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



